

December 3, 2015

The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman Committee on Energy and Commerce US House of Representatives 2125 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Greg Walden Chairman Subcommittee on Communications and Technology Committee on Energy and Commerce US House of Representatives 2125 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Frank Pallone Ranking Member Committee on Energy and Commerce US House of Representatives 2125 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Anna Eshoo Ranking Member Subcommittee on Communications and Technology Committee on Energy and Commerce US House of Representatives 2125 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairmen and Rankings Members:

On November 17<sup>th</sup> the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) sent the attached letter to the Chair and Ranking Member of the Energy and Commerce Committee's Communications and Technology Subcommittee regarding the hearing on draft legislation on pole attachments. The letter lists a number of serious concerns with the draft legislation.

To date, we have had multiple meetings with bipartisan committee staff, discussing ways to improve the language of the bill and address the concerns of America's electric cooperatives. These meetings have been productive, and we thank the Chairmen and Ranking Members for their willingness to engage with us in a productive and professional manner. As the Subcommittee prepares to mark up the draft bill on Wednesday, NRECA and the undersigned state associations of electric cooperatives want to reiterate our concerns with the draft. However, we recognize that it is a draft. We are continuing to work with the Committee and are confident that together we can ensure that the final bill achieves the goal of promoting broadband deployment without adversely impacting the rural cooperatives.

If you have any questions, please contact Brian Cavey at <u>brian.cavey@nreca.coop</u>, Tammy Embrey at <u>tammy.embrey@nreca.coop</u> or Martha Duggan at <u>Martha.duggan@nreca.coop</u>.

Thank you for considering our concerns.

Sincerely,

National Rural Electric Cooperative Association Alabama Rural Electric Association of Cooperatives Alaska Power Association Grand Canyon State Electric Cooperative Association, Inc. Arkansas Electric Cooperatives, Inc. Golden State Power Cooperative Colorado Rural Electric Association Florida Electric Cooperatives Association, Inc. Georgia Electric Membership Corporation Idaho Consumer Owned Utilities Association Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives Indiana Electric Cooperatives Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives Kansas Electric Cooperatives, Inc. Kentucky Association of Electric Cooperatives, Inc. Association of Louisiana Electric Cooperatives, Inc. Michigan Electric Cooperative Association Minnesota Rural Electric Association Electric Power Associations of Mississippi, Inc. Association of Missouri Electric Cooperatives, Inc. Montana Electric Cooperatives Association Nebraska Rural Electric Association Nevada Rural Electric Association Northeast Association of Electric Cooperatives New Mexico Rural Electric Cooperative Association, Inc. North Carolina Association of Electric Cooperatives, Inc. North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives Ohio Rural Electric Cooperatives, Inc. Oklahoma Association of Electric Cooperatives, Inc. Oregon Rural Electric Cooperative Association Pennsylvania Rural Electric Association The Electric Cooperatives of South Carolina, Inc. South Dakota Rural Electric Association Inc. Tennessee Electric Cooperative Association **Texas Electric Cooperatives** Utah Rural Electric Association Virginia, Maryland & Delaware Association of Electric Cooperatives Washington Rural Electric Cooperative Association Wisconsin Electric Cooperative Association Wyoming Rural Electric Association

CC:

The Hon. Joe Barton The Hon. Ed Whitfield The Hon. John Shimkus The Hon. Joseph R. Pitts The Hon. Tim Murphy The Hon. Michael Burgess The Hon. Marsha Blackburn The Hon. Steve Scalise The Hon. Bob Latta The Hon. Cathy McMorris Rodgers The Hon. Gregg Harper The Hon. Leonard Lance The Hon. Brett Guthrie The Hon. Pete Olson The Hon. David McKinley The Hon. Mike Pompeo The Hon. Adam Kinzinger The Hon. Morgan Griffith The Hon. Gus Bilirakis The Hon. Bill Johnson The Hon. Billy Long The Hon. Renee Ellmers The Hon. Larry Bucshon The Hon. Bill Flores The Hon. Susan Brooks The Hon. Markwayne Mullin The Hon. Richard Hudson The Hon. Chris Collins The Hon. Kevin Cramer The Hon. Bobby Rush The Hon. Eliot L. Engel The Hon. Gene Green The Hon. Diana DeGette The Hon. Lois Capps The Hon. Michael F. Doyle The Hon. Jan Schakowsky

The Hon. G.K. Butterfield The Hon. Doris O. Matsui The Hon. Kathy Castor The Hon. John Sarbanes The Hon. Jerry McNerney The Hon. Peter Welch The Hon. Peter Welch The Hon. Paul Tonko The Hon. Paul Tonko The Hon. John Yarmulth The Hon. John Yarmulth The Hon. Yvette D. Clarke The Hon. David Loebsack The Hon. Kurt Schrader The Hon. Joseph P. Kennedy III The Hon. Tony Cardenas